Jeter, Teixeira Win Gold Gloves

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

The American League Gold Glove Award winners were announced this afternoon, and Derek Jeter and Mark Teixeira represented the Yankees in taking home the hardware. Jeter became the second oldest shortstop to win a Gold Glove at 35, since Luis Aparicio won when he was 36. It is Jeter's fourth and first since 2006. Mark Teixeira also received his first Gold Glove since 2005-06.

The rest of the winners can be found here.

I imagine the NL players will be annoucned tommorow. As for the rest of the awardsm here is when they will be announced:

Nov. 16 — AL and NL Rookie of the Year
Nov. 17 — AL Cy Young
Nov. 18 — AL and NL Manager of the Year
Nov. 19 — NL Cy Young
Nov. 23 — AL Most Valuable Player
Nov. 24 — NL Most Valuable Player

UPDATE 5:09: Jim here: Well I guess the voters, the managers and coaches, disagreed with the UPenn research that came out a couple of years ago. Maybe if the research had come from Princeton, they would have believed it.
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]


Post a Comment

Legal Disclaimer

The owners, operators, and writers of the Michael Kay's Successors blog are in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated with the New York Yankees or the aforementioned Michael Kay. Because if they were, we'd be on World Series championship #39 by now.

Also, anything written about broadcaster/on-air personalities is all in good fun and meant to be taken as a joke.

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP